chapter 2

i know this is not the chapter that you were hoping for… this is a chapter that contains 40% more coherency and 60% more grammar (thank you rouge). I am also trying to decide if I want to keep the second half of the chapter or rework it into something else, i fyou have any thoughts let me know.

 

without further ado. Chapter 2 – Hatching.

 

I was surrounded by warmth when I first woke up and I felt unusually tired. I tried to open my eyes, but I quickly realised that I couldn’t move. After a few seconds I heard some strange noises that seemed to surround me, it had a certain cadence, like people talking, I tried listen for a little bit, but I couldn’t think straight, my mind was clouded. The only thought I could hold onto was that I was warm. after a few minutes the voices stopped and losing the battle I fell back into the quiet embrace of sleep.

It seemed some time had passed when I next woke up, to what felt like an earthquake. It felt like my entire world was being shaken, yet I still couldn’t open my eyes. I heard muffled noises like before but I still couldn’t understand them.  I tried to move around, but nothing had changed. I still couldn’t move at all. I felt a little cramped in this dark prison.  Then another earthquake occurred, everything was shaking again, I heard some more muffled noises. A few minutes passed and it was quiet once more,  I once again fell into the darkness of sleep.

It felt like more time had passed when I next woke up. though something felt different. This time I didn’t feel sleepy, though I felt even more cramped than before, it felt like I was encased in a small box that was three sizes too small, my entire body felt weird. It bits and pieces of the conversation with the woman drifted into my mind; she said that I was going to become a mana dragon and I would have to hatch. Feeling a bit anxious I started to squirm as much as the small prison would allow when I heard a loud crack. I suddenly felt less cramped, so I continued to squirm and another loud crack sounded out, then another, until a bright light suddenly blinded me. I blinked my eyes a few times before I could see again and in front of me I noticed four giants staring at me. Panic flashed through my mind, I tried to scream but the only sound I heard was a small squeak. I stopped for a second as I noticed that a scaly milky blue snout protruding from my face. At this point I realized that I actually had turned into a dragon.

Thinking for a bit, I started to remember parts of the conversation with the strange  woman. I remembered her telling me that I had been summoned to another world and that she was turning me into a dragon, I also remembered that I had to eat the egg fragments or something terrible would happen, so I shakily stood up and started to eat them. The fragments tasted delicious, though it was a bit crunchy. I devoured all the fragments, my belly felt pleasantly full. I started to look around and I noticed that the four giants were still staring at me, confusion plain on their faces.

The giant with the beard started to speak in a language that I couldn’t understand. After listening for a few seconds, I gave up on trying to understand it.  I decided that they weren’t going to kill me instantly, out of curiosity I started to look around the room. It was a nondescript stone room with no windows and the walls had intermittently spaced glowing crystals, that bathed the room in a pale blueish light. I was currently sitting on a large table and in its center; there was a large indent where, my egg was resting. As I looked around the rest of the room, I could see a fairly large pile of copper coins in the corner of the room. “Well, that is stereotypical.” I tried to say but only a small series of squeaks came out.

The noise from the four men increased; when I felt someone grab me. Turning my long neck around, I could see that the older man with the gray beard had picked me up. A sudden feeling of hatred welled up and clouded my thoughts. In a fit of rage, I bit the man that had dared to grasp me. My fangs pierced his skin and blood spilled into my mouth, it surprisingly tasted delicious. I started to fall as the man let go of me. I braced myself for the coming pain of hitting the floor, instead I felt an odd sensation coming from my back. I turned my head and, and two beautiful blue-white wings were spread out wide. My short flight ended with me in a crumpled heap on the floor. I quickly untangled myself and stood up and  scurried under the table moving away from the giants.  Their arguments kept get louder as I hid under the table. I watched one walk away and slam the door as they left. The others talked between themselves for a few more minutes before leaving the room.

Feeling tired from my little adventure, I started to look for some place to sleep. Looking at the pile of coins, I thought to myself: “Why not, stereotypes exist for a reason.” I walked towards the pile of coins trying to master the strange rhythm of walking on four legs. I climbed up the pile of coins and  settled myself the coins flowed around my draconic form, and before I realized it I had fallen asleep.


 

<last chapter| home | next chapter >

3 thoughts on “chapter 2

  1. Leafyeyes417

    Well i think it needs the second part, as right now the chapter feels much too short. 😛

    Thanks for the update, it is much better than before. 🙂

    Like

    1. Leafyeyes417

      Well i missed part of what you said.
      Anyway, if you want to re-work it, you can, though i have no idea what you would change it to. It would have to be something that doesn’t affect the story too much, unless you want to change the entire story.

      Like

  2. Pingback: Chapter 1 – Tales of The Forgottenslayer

Leave a comment